Comparison
MagicINFO vs Samsung VXT vs impressBox
Samsung is retiring MagicINFO and sells VXT from 2027; impressBox runs on the same Samsung screens and on everything else. The table puts the three side by side on the points that decide a migration: dates, hosting, licensing, screens, AI, proof of play and what a move costs.
Side by side
Only what Samsung publishes and what we run ourselves. Samsung facts checked on 2026-10-12.
| Samsung MagicINFO (legacy) | Samsung VXT | impressBox | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Where it stands | Being retired. End of sale for On-Premise on 31 December 2026, MagicINFO Cloud ends on 28 February 2027, support ends on 31 December 2029. MagicINFO 8 has had no security patches since October 2023. | Samsung’s current platform: from 2027 all Samsung CMS sales are VXT. | In production on more than 5,000 screens in the Baltics, including a 1,000-screen retail media network. |
| Hosting | Your own MagicINFO server (On-Premise) or MagicINFO Cloud. | Samsung cloud. | impressBox cloud, or on your own infrastructure. |
| Licensing | Device licences for the server; no new On-Premise licences after 31 December 2026. | Subscription per screen; the price depends on the country, the reseller and the term. | Per screen per month: software player from €15, managed player with hardware from €19, on a 36-month term, excluding VAT. |
| Samsung displays | Samsung signage displays with the MagicINFO client. | Samsung Tizen displays on Samsung’s VXT device list. | Samsung Tizen displays through URL Launcher, no APK, and older Samsung Orsay displays. |
| Other screens and players | Samsung ecosystem. | Samsung ecosystem. | LG webOS 3–8, Android displays and Android TV, BrightSign, Raspberry Pi, x86 and ARM boards, Windows, Linux, macOS, web browsers. |
| How you manage it | Web console. | Web console. | Web dashboard, the AI agent in the dashboard chat, WhatsApp and Slack, or Claude and other AI tools through the MCP server. |
| AI | None. | Not stated in the Samsung documentation we checked; ask your Samsung reseller. | Built-in AI agent for content, templates, playlists and devices; MCP server with 114 tools (24 September 2026). |
| Templates and data | Authoring in the MagicINFO tools. | Not stated in the Samsung documentation we checked; ask your Samsung reseller. | HTML templates written from one sentence, bound to live data (prices, weather, Power BI, your own feeds). |
| Proof of play | Playback reports in MagicINFO Server. | Not stated in the Samsung documentation we checked; ask your Samsung reseller. | Playback logged per screen and per file; reports for advertisers and for your own checks. |
| Offline playback and delivery | Content cached on the display. | Not stated in the Samsung documentation we checked; ask your Samsung reseller. | Content cached on the player; players inside a site fetch files from each other (peer-to-peer), so a dropped link does not empty the screens. |
| Device diagnostics | Device status in the console. | Not stated in the Samsung documentation we checked; ask your Samsung reseller. | Status, screenshots, logs, network tests, reboots and settings per screen, from the dashboard or by asking the agent. |
| What a move costs you | Staying means no new licences and, for MagicINFO 8, no security patches. | Samsung’s own migration path, inside the Samsung ecosystem. | The screens stay; the software changes site by site while the rest keeps running on MagicINFO. See how a migration works. |
Sources: Samsung VXT documentation, MagicINFO roadmap ; impressBox pricing; impressBox MCP server.
How to read the table
If you want to stay with Samsung software
VXT is the path Samsung sells. It is cloud-based and licensed per screen; the price comes from your reseller. Check Samsung’s device list for the models it supports.
If on-premise matters
MagicINFO On-Premise keeps running until the end of 2029 without new licences. impressBox runs on your own infrastructure with the same features as in the cloud.
If the fleet is mixed
Old and new Samsung screens, plus LG, Android or BrightSign elsewhere: impressBox runs them from one dashboard, with one set of playlists and schedules.
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between MagicINFO and Samsung VXT?
MagicINFO is Samsung’s older CMS, available as an on-premise server and as MagicINFO Cloud; Samsung is retiring it (end of sale for On-Premise on 31 December 2026, Cloud ends on 28 February 2027, support ends on 31 December 2029). VXT is Samsung’s cloud CMS and the platform Samsung sells from 2027.
Do I have to move from MagicINFO to VXT?
No. VXT is Samsung’s own path, but the Samsung screens also run other software. impressBox installs on Samsung Tizen displays through URL Launcher and on older Orsay displays, in the cloud or on-premise. See moving from MagicINFO.
Which option keeps an on-premise setup?
MagicINFO On-Premise until support ends in 2029, without new licences; and impressBox, which runs on your own infrastructure as well as in the cloud. VXT is cloud-based.
Which option supports screens from other makers?
impressBox: LG webOS, Android displays, Android TV, BrightSign, Raspberry Pi, x86 and ARM boards, desktop and browsers, next to Samsung Tizen and Orsay. MagicINFO and VXT are for Samsung displays. See supported hardware.
How were the facts on this page checked?
The Samsung dates come from Samsung’s VXT documentation, the MagicINFO roadmap page, checked on 2026-10-12. Where Samsung’s public documentation does not state something about VXT, the table says so instead of guessing. impressBox facts come from this site and from the networks we run.
Samsung screens on impressBox
- Moving from MagicINFOSamsung’s dates, your three options and how a migration works.
- Samsung VXT vs impressBoxSend your screen count and VXT quote, get an impressBox offer.
- Samsung TizenHow impressBox controls Samsung professional displays.
- Samsung Tizen setup guideInstall through URL Launcher; no APK file needed.
Compare on your own screens
Tell us how many Samsung screens you have and which models, and we come back with an impressBox offer and a migration plan.